Tales from the Diaper Bag



Who Would Sell This Stuff?

Last week, I went to Kohl’s to buy Bambina some new pajamas (by the way, is there anything cuter than baby footie pajamas? I don’t think so).  I ended up buying several pairs of Carter’s pajamas. Typically, I love Carter’s products– they’re cute, they’re affordable and there’s a ton of variety.  So imagine my shock when I found the below tag on one (and only one) of the pajamas I picked out for Bambina.

IMG_0479

In case you can’t read that, the pajamas aren’t flame resistant.  What the heck?  Aren’t all baby pajamas fire resistant? How is that legal? I found this particularly weird because all of the other identical-looking Carter’s pajamas were flame resistant, so what was this fire hazard doing on the shelves?

I did a little digging, and it turns out that these pj’s are not, in fact, a consumer lawsuit waiting to happen.

According to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission,  all children’s sleepwear has to be either: (a) flame resistant or (b) “tight fitting” (hence, the ridiculous tag. Indeed, the tag’s color and wording is dictated by the CPSC).  Now, why would anyone want to buy pajamas for their infant that aren’t flame resistant? Apparently, many people.  There’s some debate on this, but some parents are suspicious of the chemicals in fire-resistant clothes. For more info., check out this short (and refreshingly hysteria-free) article.

Me? I’m putting her in fire-resistant clothes.  I’m anxiety-prone enough without sitting around wondering if Bambina’s pajamas are tight-fitting enough to avoid being a fire hazard. Knowing me, I’d be sending her to bed in a baby unitard and my guess is that she wouldn’t thank me for that.

menshoodedunitard

Leave a Reply

