Tales from the Diaper Bag



Music Class for the Kid

Today I took Bambina to her first music class.  I’ll admit that I signed up for the class mainly out of a sense of guilt.  A couple of months ago, a friend of mine and I were talking and she casually asked what kind of classes we were taking.  Classes? I honestly didn’t know what she meant. Infant CPR? I wondered. Uh, no.  She wanted to know if I had signed Bambina up for Gymboree, music classes or, I don’t know what else, maybe infant ballet?

I had not signed her up for any such class. Frankly, I hadn’t known that there were any classes for babies.  Don’t babies just sleep, eat and play? In our family, bambina’s outings consisted of daycare, the park, the grocery store and that’s about it.  Lucky for us, we live in a town offering  plenty of class options  to all the fussy mothers who live here and are looking for ways to develop their childrens’ genius.  So we sorted through the options, and decided to sign her up for swim classes with my hubby and music classes with me.

My husband got the better end of the deal.

We did not get off to a good start. The class was at 10:45, but Bambina didn’t take her usual morning nap, so she arrived at class VERY sleepy.  Still, I wasn’t that discouraged because Bambina is a mellow girl and if we were just going to sit around and clap our hands to guitar music, we’d be fine.  As it turned out, there was very little sitting and NO circle.

When we got there, the room looked like an insane asylum for very tiny people.  A 2 year old girl was banging away on an off-key piano.  A little boy was having a temper tantrum.  Several other kids were running to and fro, banging into people and strollers.  The rest of the mothers and kids sat on carpet samples (our “seats”)  waiting for class to begin.  Poor Bambina, was swiveling her head around, trying to take it all in and probably wondering what I had gotten her into.

We sang a couple of classics like “the Hokey Pokey” and “BINGO” and the instructor–who looks exactly like the kind of hippy, dippy person who would teach a baby music class–made a half-hearted attempt to sing “The Rainbow Song” which neither she, or we, knew very well.  I was less than impressed with the whole production.

Now, I’m about to say something for the first time that I’ll probably repeat a million times over the next 18 years:  I do no understand my daughter’s taste in music.

Bambina adored the class.  She smiled and laughed and shook her tambourine.  She was fascinated by the babies and there was a song during which we all waved colored scarves that she LOVED.  So, even though I thought it was a loud, stupid, and poorly planned class, we’ll be back.  Every Friday.  For the next 8 weeks.

music

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Maggie says:

    While I love that Syd already loves music and enjoyed the class…it just seems weird to have a class for babies. Does not compute.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

