Tales from the Diaper Bag



Baby Barrettes?

Bambina was born with crazy hair–which I love. I’ve always found it weird the way some babies are just giant HEADS for the first few months of their lives.  People told us that it would all fall out but it hasn’t. . .it’s only gotten longer.  Again, that’s awesome (I dream of the day when her hair is long enough for cute little pig-tails. Soooo  cute) but in the meantime, we’re definitely in the phase where she just looks unkempt.  Her hair is kind of shaggy and in her eyes.  To make matters worse, she has a serious side-part which makes her look not unlike Donald Trump.

So I was talking to a friend who suggested baby barrettes.  Not a giant baby bow.  I think those look pretty silly and sad– it’s so obviously a play by parents to identify to the world that the baby is a GIRL.  I don’t care if some random stranger thinks Bambina is a boy. She’s 7 months old and she’s not going to be traumatized by the mistake. Anyhow, I don’t know how I feel about the barrettes. If they hold her hair back from her eyes, that’s awesome–but my husband pointed out that if she can get them out of her hair it’s a potential choking hazard.  To that I say, would they really sell something that could wipe out their customers?  I see his point, though. Bambina LOVES putting things in her mouth. Hmmmm. . . . I have to think about this one

Baby-Barrette-Model-ChocolatePink-Tedrick-Photography

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Maggie says:

    I think the barrettes are adorable. And if you don’t like the bows it seems like your options are kind of limited.

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  2. * victoria says:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/HTF-36-Count-Baby-Goody-Plastic-Girls-Barrettes-Blue_W0QQitemZ250448495659QQcmdZViewItem

    i actually found one of these wedged in the back seat of my car today. b/c clearly i still wear barrettes for children.

    also! we both survived baby barrettes. i think la bambina will be fine.

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago


Leave a Reply

