Tales from the Diaper Bag



Hubby Guest Post No. 3: Sleep? We Don’t Need No Stinking Sleep!

By reading the last couple of posts, you may have gotten the impression that we aren’t getting the AMA-recommended 8 hours of sleep per night.  That is completely inaccurate – in fact, we typically get about 8.5 hours – I get 4 and I graciously let the wife get 4.5 hours of semi-slumber.  Nothing to look at here – please move along.  Seriously, anyone who tells you that the first few months of parenthood isn’t that hard either doesn’t have a kid or has blacked out those months from their memory.  So many of my friends with toddlers have reacted to my tales of woe with a 100-mile stare that I didn’t understand at first.  Now I know that it must be their brain shutting down to protect them from the memory.   

In fact, I recently learned that a very good friend of mine is pregnant with her second baby.  I realized – too late – that I have been regaling her daily with our stories of sleepless nights, reflux and screaming babies in an all-too-small house.  I can’t imagine what she was thinking when I was telling her these tales – did her brain shut them out so I was in essence talking to myself? Maybe she honestly didn’t remember those nights and was now having some sort of Vietnamesqe flashback – hard to say.  God knows I don’t ask her – it’s better not to know. 

In all, we know that sleep patterns change, and that they will get better over time.  We also vaguely remember the first few weeks in which I would stay up until 1:30am to feed the baby and then get to bed around 2am – I watched a lot of late night poker and lousy Showtime movies in those days.  As they say, it is darkest before the dawn (really – I know from experience over the past couple of weeks exactly what dawn looks like), so we’re looking forward to a new sleep pattern that will allow us to both eat dinner AND watch a TV show before having to tend to the baby’s crying. 

A side note to our across-the-street neighbors:  How is it possible that you have your TV on every minute of every day?  I have looked out our back window at all hours, literally, and your TV is always on!  How is it possible that you could watch that much TV?  More disturbingly, you watch a lot of the same shows we do (big TV + condo development = easy to see what you’re watching) – does that mean we having something in common?  Are my wife and I that close to being 24/7 TV watchers?  Freightening thought.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Margaret says:

    As for a possible reason for the tv always being on: my Dad leaves the tv on in the family room during the day when he is at work to keep the dog company (no, I am not kidding), and often leaves it on at night because he forgets to turn it off (not kidding again).

    Maybe your neighbors have a similar thought process?

    Or they are dead. You might want to check on that.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

