Tales from the Diaper Bag



Sanity Tool Kit

I’ve been home for 6 weeks and things are going pretty ok. The baby wakes up only once during the night to be fed. Plus, my husband has been a real champ and has taken that feeding, so I’m actually sleeping 5-6 hours a night– woo-hoo!  The only thing that’s still a drag is how little I get to leave the house.

There’s two factors at work here. One is the weather– it’s winter. So we can’t go for walks or take trips to the park or really do anything outside.  No cute baby snowsuit (or a parka for mom) can make that kind of outing anything but miserable.  I even feel bad taking her from the car to the store when the wind is blowing because I worry that her little face will get wind chapped and I’ll be judged by all other mothers in the store to be a total crap parent.  We can go to the mall or Target (and we’ve done both) but really, that’s far from ideal. She isn’t getting any fresh air and I’m tempting to do some  (usually totally unnecessary) shopping.  The other factor at play is the baby herself. She’s older and pretty alert when she’s awake, but she’s still too young to enjoy looking around at places and people. She also gets pretty cranky being stuck in the car seat/stroller for more than an hour at a time.  So, for now, our outings are mad dash sprints that I make hoping to get out and back before the baby wakes up and treats the world to her very special sonic boom cry of doom.  I think we’re still a month or two away from her enjoying being out and about.

Consequently, I spend a lot of time in my living room. Hanging out. Watching the baby. . . watching me. It can make for a long day. I rely on my go-to’s to make sure I don’t go insane.

1. Lost on DVD- because you can only watch so much daytime television and frankly, I’ve seen all the Forensic Files, Baby Story and Dr. Phil that I can handle.

2. ITunes- I play music for the baby during the day and we have cds of nursery rhymes, but sometimes I just have to turn off “The Ants Go Marching” and turn on something a little more current.  Also, the baby seems to prefer dancing to my music (memories from the womb?) and if she’s happy, I’m happy. . . or at least not deafened by her cries.

3.  The gym- three days a week my husband takes over baby duty and I go to the gym to do some cardio. I’m only there 30 minutes but I get to burn off some baby weight and blow off steam from the day. I come home feeling great and I sleep like a rock that night. I was never one of those people that liked to exercise but I LOVE it now.  Even if it means having to look at my flabby post-baby body in all those gym mirrors.

4. Tea time and escapist fiction- When the baby takes her afternoon nap (if she takes an afternoon nap, but that’s another story) I make some decaf tea and read something really junky. I have a pile of non-fiction that I’ll get to eventually. . .but for the past few weeks, I’ve been too tired and preoccupied to read anything heavier than the Style section of the morning paper.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Margaret says:

    At least when she’s ready to go out for longer periods, the weather will be nicer! Say April/May. So you’ll be able to really enjoy it. And I’m glad she’s digging the music, I’m sure there are studies out there that talk about listening to music and brain development, but really, it’s just more fun when kids like music and dance around!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

