Tales from the Diaper Bag



One Month Old

The baby is a month old on Sunday.  In many ways, time has flown.  I’m getting used to living my life in three hour cycles– a diaper change, feeding, burping followed by a desperate attempt to do everything else I need to do before the cycle starts over.  Oy. I think my Boppy pillow might merge into my midsection.  While all that’s been happening, the baby has already started to grow and develop in leaps and bounds.  I can’t even imagine where we’ll be in another month. Personally, I hope I’m in a place where I’m thinking less about how many dirty diapers the baby has had in a day. No adult should think about poop as much as I am these days.   Seriously.

img_0172

This month’s challenge: trips out of the house.  Now that la bambina is 4 weeks old, we’re starting to take (very very) short trips out in public.  It’s a tricky business. I have to feed her, put her in her car seat and get her out and back before she gets cranky.  My inability to smoothly handle the car seat, stroller and diaper bag has. . complicated matters. I’m still trying to get the hang of getting the car seat in and out of the car without dislocating my shoulder or locking my keys in the car.  I’m also less than impressive with the Snap-N-Go stroller (It would be better named the “Try to Snap-Curse-Resnap-and Go While Onlookers Snicker”, if my experience is any indication).  Actually, the baby has been fabulous during our little adventures so far, but that’s only because she’s a sweet baby and I’ve been incredibly lucky. I’m hoping that by Month Two, la bambina will be a little road warrior and I’ll be less dopey.

Leave a Reply

