Tales from the Diaper Bag



Hubby Guest Post No. 2: Late and Lost

People who know me will tell you that I have never been late to anything without having lost a limb as an excuse – and my wife is the same way.  In fact, combined we are such a potent combination of uber-promptness that my wife keeps a book in her car for when we’re early to an appointment.  That said, I can tell you that the simple act of bringing home la bambina has caused me to completely lose any sense of timeliness I once exhibited.  Por ejemplo, this week I have yet to pick my mother-in-law up anywhere close to the planned-upon time (she is in town for a couple of weeks helping the wife during the day, but because of the wonderful housing downturn we are still in our 2-BR bungalow with no spare room). If I say I’ll pick her up at 7am, I don’t leave the house until 7:15.  This morning we called her at 7am to tell her that I was just getting in the shower instead of pulling up to her hotel.  Not good.

The thing is, we all know people like this – I used to HATE these people.   Now, after a mere 2 weeks home with the baby, I am one of those people.  Again, not good.  I know what you’re thinking – once you get into a routine it will get better.  All evidence appears to be to the contrary – every day of la bambina’s life, there is more to take care of before leaving the house.  This is mainly because it is next-to-impossible to  keep up with everything that life entails when you have a new baby – it’s hard enough not to get buried without a kid, eh?  So I’m always trying to do one last thing before leaving the house – and there is my downfall.  We’ll probably adapt and start being on time again, but my mother-in-law better not be holding her breath tomorrow morning. 

There is one other thing I would like to hit on before my wife revokes my posting priviledges.  I now lose – I mean temporarily misplace – things far too often for comfort.  As an example, I, like many uptight, type-A lawyers, might as well have my BlackBerry surgically attached to my hand.  This is my way of saying that I always know where it is.  It is my link to everything – phone, e-mail, the internet, etc.  The other morning, as I am becoming increasingly late in picking up my mother-in-law, I can’t find it.  Not on the charger (very odd)……not on the counter with my keys (odder still)…….not in yesterday’s jacket (hmmm)……ok, I’ll check yesterday’s pants – nope (uh oh).  At this point, my wife suggests calling the phone, thinking that maybe it slipped out of my pocket.  I try this – to no avail (oh sh*t, I’m screwed).  So I leave – 15 minutes late, as per my new view of “on time.”  My wife finally found it for me – in the bottom of a dresser drawer of all places.  The thing is, this is just a sympton of a bigger problem.  I foresee a future of finding my keys in the refrigerator, my shoes under the bookcase and the cat in the dishwasher.  To repeat a phrase from the start of this post – not good.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kim says:

    Take heart, my friend in anality (is that a word? it really should be). The misplacing things is 100 percent a product of sleep deprivation which, although it is hard to believe now, is a temporary situation. As for running late, that too will improve when you’re not completely sleep-deprived. However, to be completely honest, it is probably unrealistic for you to expect to achieve your pre-baby levels of promptness. Knowing you, this isn’t the end of the world, because you had enough time to spare that you’ll probably go from always being 15 minutes early to always being on time. Besides, the good news is that as time goes on, more and more of the people you know will also be parents, and they will all understand. Or who knows – maybe La Bambina will inherit her parents’ anal-ness and always bug you to plan ahead, tidy up, and leave the house earlier – and then you’ll end up even more anal and organized than ever before.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * rtmsf says:

    As someone who loves to get there no earlier than 1 minute ahead of time – yet never late, either – I welcome this change in Papa Bambina. 🙂

    Not good? Nay, my friends, very, very good.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

