Tales from the Diaper Bag



Two Week Sanity Check

 

baby_picture_photo_2

Well, la bambina is two weeks old.  She’s doing great. She’s eating well. She sleeps as much as any newborn this age sleeps (for two-four hour stretches at a time) and she got a clean bill of health from her doctor at her two week check-up. Every day she’s growing and changing and it’s amazing to see how much she’s changed in just two weeks. She’s amazing. She’s a beautiful, glowing little girl.

I’m not so much glowing these days. Indeed, I’m very happy if I get a shower or get to brush my teeth in the morning. So tired. So out of touch with life outside of the cycle of the baby’s feedings. So, so tired.

Let me start by saying that I’m not complaining.  If I had been all that attached to life without kids, I wouldn’t have had a baby. My husband and I didn’t wake up one day and just decide to reproduce. We went into this with eyes wide open and have embraced the changes that parenthood has brought with it. That said, it’s still been a heck of an adjustment and it’s only now that I’m starting to get my bearings. For example, I LOVE to sleep. Love. it.  Before la bambina, it was a rare night that I didn’t get a straight eight hours and if I didn’t, boy, the earth trembled. Even in college and law school, when other people were up late studying and resorting to caffeine and nicotine to keep them up for the 48th straight hour, I was snoozing in my bed like Rip Van Winkle, exams be damned.  Now, every night between 2-4 AM, you’ll find me awake, if barely coherent, feeding the baby and silently cursing my husband’s ability to sleep through the baby’s cries on the monitor.  Alas, I can’t even count on caffeine to support me through these periods, as it would turn my cute little baby into an eight pound Mexican jumping bean.

Besides the lack of consistent sleep (which at least I knew was coming) the biggest change to my life has been my lack of ability to leave the house. I’ll admit that I had not anticipated this, even if I should have.  Newborns can’t go out in crowded areas for several weeks after they’re born (germs) and every baby book ever sold tells you this.  Still, if this were Spring/Summer/Fall, I could take the baby out for walks around the neighborhood or walk with her to the mailbox, if only to get us out of the house for a few minutes each day.  Given this time of year, however, that isn’t possible. We’re in the middle of the coldest January in a decade.  We’ve had ice. We’ve had snow. We’ve had freezing temperatures. Clearly not the kind of weather in which you’d want to take a newborn out, even if it weren’t cold and flu season– and it is. Consequently, the baby and I spend all day long in our (seemingly shrinking) condo. Last week went by without me leaving the house even to get the paper.  All the cable television and Netflix in the world can’t even put a dent in the kind of cabin fever I have.  I would be lying if I didn’t say that going from working full time and spending evenings and weekends out to my current lock-down situation has been. . .well, not my favorite part of maternity leave.

On the positive note, some of the changes I’ve experienced has been pretty cool.  For example, I’ve been surprised that for all the jitters I had while pregnant about caring for a delicate newborn, I’ve surprisingly not fallen into the worry-wart obsessing that characterized pre-baby me. I haven’t freaked out about her sleeping or eating, short of checking with the doctor to make sure that her patterns are healthy.  I’ve refrained from making (too many) trips into her room at night to make sure she’s ok. If you know me, you know that the absence of crippling worry is totally out of character for me.  It’s a motherhood miracle. 

Anyhow, that’s how we’re doing. I’ll check back later.  Oh, and despite his promise that his guest post would be a one-time event, my hubby will be posting again soon.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Margaret says:

    I hope you get a chance to step outside the house soon! Maybe in another week or so, when Mike is home you can take a short trip into the outside world? Maybe just walk around the block or something?

    And yay, another husband post!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * rtmsf says:

    Who is Mike? I thought his name was Alex.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

