Tales from the Diaper Bag



Last Minute Prep for D-Day

10 days until la bambina is here. We’re ready. I think we’re ready. I hope we’re ready.

Ok, I’m pretty sure we’re forgetting something huge but after a weekend of pacing the floorboards, I don’t know what it is (clothes- check, car seat-check, diapers- check), so we’ll just have to deal with it when it comes up. I’m pretty Type-A (and my husband is hyper hyper Type-A) so it’s hard for us to admit that we’re just going to have to strap in and hope for the best. . . just like every other set of new parents. Oh, bambina. It’s going to be an interesting first few weeks.

The one thing I haven’t gotten around to doing is packing for the hospital. I’m just going to admit that I’ve been putting it off.  I’ve made a list of what I need to pack. I’ve purchased travel-sized toiletries. I’ve purchased slippers and socks to wear in the hospital.  But I haven’t so much put all of those things in a bag.  It’s driving my husband nuts. He is, very reasonably, afraid that the baby will come early and we’ll be caught unprepared.  He begs and pleads with me to pack. He sets deadlines for when the bags must be packed. . .or else.  But as I sit here, those bags are sitting empty in our bedroom. Wait. Scratch that. I’ve put a robe in my bag.  So I haven’t completely ignored him. Take that, packing-Nazi.

I’ve found it hard to get jazzed about packing for the hospital stay.  I’m not exactly getting ready for a weekend trip to Paris, you know?  Obviously, there’s a lot about next Thursday that I’m really looking forward to. I can’t wait to meet my daughter and hold her tiny little hand for the first time. I can’t wait to call my parents and tell them that they’re grandparents.  That said, there’s soooooooooo much I dread about my upcoming hospital stay– of course the labor pain (no duh), but also the lack of privacy and personal space, not to mention all the noise that makes staying in a hospital such a cruddy experience.  That’s why I’m not exactly waiting by the front door with my bags packed.  I don’t care how lovely the maternity ward (and our hospital is really very, very nice)– I suspect that I, like most new moms, will be as thrilled to get discharged as a convict upon getting paroled.  Now, I’m pretty logical and I know myself enough to know that even sore, sleep-deprived me is going to want particular items while I’m in the hospital. So I’ll pack. Probably today. Ok, maybe tomorrow. It’ll get done. Yeah. Totally.

 rets008052

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Margaret says:

    Let’s just hope the memory of the pain and hospital stay will fade…my mom always says that she doesn’t remember hardly any of it. I’m thinking about you guys and sending positive labor-vibes your way! But not until Monday. We don’t want you to go into labor early!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Caroline says:

    OMG so exciting!! I can’t wait to meet her, and to hear all about it! …okay, not all about it. But at least the awesome parts. Hurray! I’ll be thinking about you next week!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

