Tales from the Diaper Bag



I’m as Big as a Stuffed Turkey

After a little bit of a break, I’m back!

thanksgiving_turkey_2

This Thanksgiving was the last holiday that found us traveling out of town before the baby arrives. We headed to my in-laws for Turkey Day and the holiday was really lovely. I was quasi-dreading the drive up there–the Wednesday before Thanksgiving is traditionally a horrible driving day and I’m at the point when I needed frequent (very frequent) stops. Before we left, I expected that what should be an 8 hour drive would be closer to 12 hours and would feel like 24.  In reality, it wasn’t too bad. The traffic was lighter than in years past (thank you, bad economy!) and we were able to stop every hour and half for breaks without adding much time to our drive.  We even had a good audiobook to pass the time while we were in the car. Short of teleporting there, it couldn’t have gone better.

Once at our destination, we had a lovely Thanksgiving. The food was delicious and it was nice to spend time with family.  Alas, pregnancy threw a few (small) wrenches in my festivities. In the past two weeks, the baby’s position has shifted to press against my stomach.  No matter how hungry I am, I can only eat or a bite or two before I am STUFFED.  So at Thanksgiving dinner I could stare longingly at the turkey, gravy, potatoes, cranberry, etc. but could eat only a small portion of it. Ok, ok to be honest, I powered through and ate more than I should have. . .but I paid dearly for that decision: I had to go lay on the couch like a beached whale and suffer through my self-imposed belly ache and dodge my hubby’s unanswerable question: “Why do you insist on doing things in pregnancy you know shouldn’t do?”

I also missed out on some of the post-Thanksgiving shopping. My mother-in-law and and sister-in-law do some serious power-shopping on Black Friday and I would have LOVED to go with them– but I knew I couldn’t hack the crowds and long lines. So the hubby and I did a much shorter shopping expedition. We hit a couple of stores and then packed it in and went home. . . where I took a good long nap. (Actually, these days almost any physical activity on my part is followed by a nap, but I digress.)  Anyhow, when the ladies came back home at the end of the day, full of stories of sales, coupons and good deals, I was a little wistful. . .but wait until next year, Macy’s. I’ll be back. Leaner, meaner and with a whole new reason to shop. Baby clothes go on sale too, ya know.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * victoria says:

    that picture is freaking me out. you are going to need to post again pronto, so that when i come back to check your blog it isn’t staring me down.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

