Tales from the Diaper Bag



Books for My Baby Girl

Ok, I’m a pretty big dork, but I’ve been compiling a list of books that I want the bambina to read as she grows up.  When I found out I was having a girl, I couldn’t help but think about what will be her first book, her favorite book or her favorite series.  The books I read as a kid stand out vividly in my mind. I can remember the first book that I memorized cover to cover: Green Eggs and Ham. The first book that I could read for myself: In a People House (it’s also how I learned about silent k words like know and knife). I also remember my first chapter book: Sweet Valley Twins: Haunted House (spoiler: the house was not really haunted. The residents were just misunderstood- important life lesson, my friends, brought to you by Francine Pascal).

I know, I know-  Making such a list for the bambina is COMPLETELY premature- The bambina is not going to be reading for a long time (although we can read to her) and as she grows up, there will be dozens of books that will be published that she’ll love that will eclipse the books that I read (no one in the 1980s could have predicted Harry Potter), but I just can’t help myself.

Below are some of the books that I’ll be buying for her (and hoping she loves as much as I did). This list is a work in progress. If you have a favorite, feel free to let me know!

Illustrated Books:

Chapter Books (you know you called them that when you were a kid)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kim says:

    Great topic! Here’s a list of my son’s favorites and my favorites from when I was a girl:

    The Betsy-Tacy series by Maude Hart Lovelace

    All the Curious George books by H.A. and Margret Rey

    Big Red Barn by Margaret Wise Brown

    Everything written by Beverly Cleary, especially the Ramona books

    Kiss Good Night by Amy Hest and Anita Jeram

    Anything by Eric Carle, especially The Very Hungry Caterpillar, The Very Lonely Firefly, and The Very Quiet Cricket

    Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? by Bill Martin and Eric Carle

    Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? by Bill Martin and Eric Carle

    Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? by Bill Martin and Eric Carle

    All the Clifford books by Norman Bridwell

    All the How Do Dinosaurs… books by Jane Yolen and Mark Teague

    Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney and Anita Jeram

    Snuggle Up, Sleepy Ones by Claire Freedman and Tina McNaughton

    Time for Bed by Mem Fox and Jane Dyer

    Go, Dog. Go! by P.D. Eastman

    Anything by Sandra Boynton, espcially Horns to Toes (and in Between), Barnyard Dance, Moo Baa La La La, and Pajama Time

    Some of the Judy Blume books, especially Freckle Juice, Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing, Superfudge, and Fudge-a-Mania

    and Harry Potter, of course!

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  2. * Tales From the Diaper Bag says:

    Oh man, how could I have forgotten the Ramona books? I LOVED the Ramona books! When I was 6 or 7, my dad used to pick me up used books from the library (you know, the ones you can buy for a nickle). Most of the books he bought were really oppressively educational–like biographies of John James Audubon or Francis Marion–showing that he clearly thought I had the reading interests of a middle age man. Sometimes, however, he would grab one of the Ramona books, which I always loved. I can’t believe I didn’t mention those books in my list.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

