Tales from the Diaper Bag



Snuggling with my Snoogle

 Last night, I slept comfortably for the first time in about a month because I used a GREAT pillow that, unfortunately, has a really stupid name- the Snoogle. The Snoogle is a maternity pillow that you wrap around yourself to support your head, back and hips. Personally, of all my pregnancy aches and pains, I’ve had the most trouble with my lower back. I had problems before I was pregnant and five months along, the situation has only gotten worse.  It pangs when I stand up or turn quickly.  But my back REALLY throbs at night while I’m sleeping. I think that trying to stay on my left side while sleeping has made the problem worse because I’m stuck in one position for most of the night.

In order to alleviate the problem, I first tried a traditional body pillow which had two problems. One, the pillow was big and bulky and didn’t conform to my body, so I could sort of lean up against it but it didn’t really support me- it just took up much needed space on the bed. The other problem was that I soon discovered that my husband was a bigger fan of the body pillow than I was.  I’d wake up in the middle of the night to find him sprawled out on top of the pillow . . and all the blankets. . . and me. Not a lot of comfort to be found while being slowly smothered to death by the one you love.

Alas, he redeemed himself when a work contact recommended the Snoogle–said his wife swore by it– and my super-thoughtful husband wrote down the recommendation. I’ll admit that when I heard about it I was pretty dubious. A Snoogle?  It sounded like a Muppet character.  Or something that Ron Popeil would sell on an infomercial. It did NOT sound like something I wanted to spend good money on. However, when I googled it (Heh heh. . . I used Google to research a Snoogle.) it had FABULOUS reviews. Women said that it really helped them get a good night’s sleep and it helped ease pregnancy aches and pains. I was pretty desperate at that point for ANY sleep, so I thought, “Hey, why not?”

 

It IS fabulous! The pillow is nice and plush but fits snugly around my shoulders and back without taking up half the bed. It also wraps around to support my tummy, which is nice.  Last night, I fell asleep at 9:30 (I know SUPER early. Oh, go ahead and laugh all you who aren’t pregnant. I’ll remember your chuckles when it’s your turn) and woke up in the morning rested and without feeling like I spent the whole night tossing and turning. Also- my back felt better than it has in months. Months!  HALLELUJAH!

Leave a Reply

