Tales from the Diaper Bag



It’s a Girl Thing

So, yes, we’re having a girl. It’s been a little surreal to think that we are going to have a daughter– not just a baby–a daughter. Wow.  I’m nearly giddy thinking about all the things I’ll get to do with my girl. The smallest things tickle me pink (ha! pun totally intended)– not least of all the clothes! Oh little girls are soooo much fun to dress!

In the fall:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the summer:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even in the winter:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am only starting to come to terms with the idea that I’m going to be the mother of a little person who will be wearing wee little outfits like these.  She’ll wear clothes like this when we go to the park or get her first ice cream cone. Flash-forward a few years and she’ll wear bigger–and slightly less cutesy–outfits when we fight over whether she’s old enough to get her ears pierced and when (god help us all) she starts dating. It’s all a lot to wrap my head around.

My husband is equally thrilled, although I think he’s thinking more about coaching la bambina’s soccer team or passing on his love/hate relationship with the Buffalo Bills (hey, girls love football too– and certainly our little girl is going to get enough exposure to it that she’ll at least be quite knowlegable of the game).

The only thing that is killing our girl-zen is the name game. My husband and I don’t agree on baby names. . . at all. He likes names like Jane. Samantha. Elizabeth. I think those names are about as exciting as dry white toast. I like slightly (only slightly) more unusual names like Ainsley. Addison. Michaela (for those of you who know us, you can guess why the hubby hates that particular name).  My husband thinks these names are too prep school-esque. We have a couple of compromise names. . .but I don’t know. I always pictured us hearing THE NAME and just knowing it was perfect.  Alas, the hunt continues.

Leave a Reply

