Tales from the Diaper Bag



A Gut Feeling

Tomorrow I hit 20 weeks of pregnancy! It’s the halfway mark.  These past 20 weeks have flown by, so its sort of scary to think that I only have that same amount of time in front of me before D-Day (Delivery Day).  It’s around this time that my pregnancy Bibles (aka “What to Expect” and Google) say that I should start to feel the baby move. Of course, I have always looked forward to feeling the baby move.  In the very early weeks of pregnancy, being pregnant seems more like an idea (“I will one day be a mother.”) rather than a reality (“Oh my God, there’s a living thing in there and it’s going to have to come out!”).  I’m a practical gal, so I’ve been looking forward to having that particular reality kick me in the butt. . . errr stomach.

Also, the few people that I know that have kids all say that the first time that baby moves it is an incredibly special moment that a mother remembers forever. So OF COURSE I’ve been waiting for my first little kick from il bambino.  And I can now say that, errrrr. . .it may have happened? 

Here’s the thing. I have no idea what I’m waiting to feel. The books and my friends are vague in their description of baby’s first movements. “It’s like butterflies.” “It’s like a little star in your stomach.” I have no idea what a star in my stomach would feel like, but when I picture it, I end up thinking about Carebears.  Not helpful.  My much more practical (and less romantic, clearly) doctor told me that it feels like gas.  Nice, right?

What I’m feeling is a little wiggle now and then. It happens when I’m sitting at my desk at work. It happens while I’m in my car driving to the store. It happened five minutes ago while I was watching “America’s Next Top Model.”  It could be il bambino. It could be my burrito from lunch. I really have no idea.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * rtmsf says:

    Dear TFTDB:

    Please make fun of your husband more. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  2. * v says:

    aaahh! now get ready for hundreds of ppl to start touching your stomach constantly. i can see the excitement on your face now.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

