Tales from the Diaper Bag



Battle of the Bulging Waistbands. . .

As mentioned previously– my waistline is ever-expanding.  I still don’t look pregnant, but I do look like I’ve eaten my way out of most of my clothes. (If only– I can’t even imagine how much fastfood I could have eaten to get this same look. ::sigh:)  After dancing around my bedroom for five minutes one morning trying to squeeze into a pair of jeans, I broke down and visited my first maternity store. 

Good news: the clothes weren’t nearly as bad as I pictured. Some things were even cute.  Also, some of my favorite brands have maternity lines. . THANK YOU The Gap and Ann Taylor Loft!

Bad news: Alas, because I don’t have the super-cute baby bump, maternity clothes don’t really fit either.  Short of sucking in my breath all day or buying regular clothes a size or two larger than I usually wear (shudder to even think about it) what’s a girl to do?

Well, I’ve found a solution. . . at least as far as pants go (from the waist up, I’m starting to look like Dolly Parton and there’s nothing on the market to disguise that). My solution isn’t perfect. It doesn’t solve all my wardrobe malfunctions, but it’s a God-send. Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you. . .the Bellyband.  

‘What is a Bellyband and how does it work?’ you ask. Well, let me tell you. Essentially, you put on your jeans without buttoning them and slide the Bellyband, which is a big ol’ piece of Spandex (Yes, that Spandex. It is good for something!), over your waistline to hold the pants up and give you a little extra room in the tummy region. It lets you wear your regular pre-pregnancy pants for a couple of weeks before you have to break down and buy maternity clothes.   

Really though, why stop there? Think of the dozens of uses for something that would allow your stomach to nearly double in size without making you buy new pants or contemplating Jenny Craig.

Did you eat too much at Thanksgiving? Don’t sit there on the couch like a slob with your jeans unzipped! Put on a Bellyband! Feeling bummed about not fitting in your skinny jeans since that month you had mono? Don’t despair! Pull on a Bellyband!  Men and women, boys and girls, young and old. . .who DOESN’T need a magical, expanding waistline?!?

Seriously, I am PSYCHED to be comfortably wearing my fav jeans again.

Leave a Reply

